Works perfectly on mobile, tablet, or computer
Immediate access to course material
Unlimited exam attempts
Certificate available for download and print
Automatically reports to CE Broker
Florida passed a new Human Trafficking Law (Chapter 2019-152) effective July 1st, 2019. This new law establishes new requirements for the massage therapy profession (as well as several other licensed health care providers). The goal of this new law is to help combat human trafficking, where Florida currently ranks third in the nation for human trafficking cases. New requirements include required signs for massage establishments and a 1-hour human trafficking course.
Human Trafficking Course FAQ
When does the required continuing education course need to be completed?
The continuing education course must be completed by January 1, 2021.
Even though the next massage renewal deadline August 31st, 2021, Section 456.0341, Florida Statute, Requirements for instruction on human trafficking (1), states:
By January 1, 2021, each licensee or certificate holder shall complete a board-approved, or department-approved if there is no board, 1-hour continuing education course on human trafficking.
Will this course count towards my continuing education renewal?
Yes. This course will count towards the renewal fo your Florida massage license
The Florida Health Source website states:
The course must be completed by January 1, 2021 and will count towards the required CE for renewal.
Will the human trafficking course be a requirement for each renewal cycle?
It appears a required course was added to the biennial continuing education requirements in Chapter 64B7-28, Florida Administrative Code. The rule changes have not posted to the Board website yet, but you can read the proposed Rules changes here.
Right now, it looks like it will be added to the other three courses required after a licensee’s first renewal (prevention of medical errors, professional ethics, and the laws and rules update. I will update as soon as the new rule is promulgated and posted to the Board website.
What must the continuing education course cover?
Section 456.0341, Florida Statute, has four requirements for the course content. Approved courses must include information on:
- Both sex trafficking and labor trafficking
- How to identify individuals who may be victims of human trafficking
- How to report cases of human trafficking
- Resources available to victims
456.0341 Requirements for instruction on human trafficking. (1)
…The course must address both sex trafficking and labor trafficking, how to identify individuals who may be victims of human trafficking, how to report cases of human trafficking, and resources available to victims.
If you have other questions about the new law and how it affects your massage license or establishment, including signs and designated massage establishment manager, here are two resources with much more information on the new law.
Course Learning Objectives
After this course, participants will be able to do the following:
- Define human trafficking, sex trafficking, and labor trafficking
- Differentiate between human smuggling and human trafficking
- Name four myths and misconceptions about human trafficking
- List five indicators or warning signs to help identify human trafficking
- Name two places to report suspected cases of human trafficking
- List two resources to help human trafficking victims
Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.